The All-Party Parliamentary Small Shops Group (APPSSG) was set up by a cross party group of MPs to raise awareness among Parliamentarians of a broad range of issues of concern to small shopkeepers including business rates, retail crime, planning reform and changes to the high street.

The APPSSG provides opportunities for members of Parliament to register their interest in small shop issues and learn more about the work that small shops do and the policy challenges that they face.

APPSSG logo 

The APPSSG is chaired by Ruth George, MP for High Peak. Ruth is responsible for overseeing the direction and topics that the group covers and was appointed Chair of the group after the General Election in 2017.

The current officers of the group are:

Chair: Ruth George MP (Labour, High Peak)
Vice Chair: Scott Mann MP (Conservative, North Cornwall)
Vice Chair: John Grogan MP (Labour, Keighley)
Officer: Nic Dakin MP (Labour, Scunthorpe)
Officer: John McNally MP (SNP, Falkirk)

The APPSSG is registered with the House of Commons. The Association of Convenience Stores (ACS) provide the secretariat services for the APPSSG on behalf of The Independent Retailers Confederation (IRC).

The IRC is an umbrella group of trade associations with common interests in the independent retail sector.

Contact: Steve Dowling, ACS Public Affairs Assistant via email steve.dowling@acs.org.uk

Meeting Minutes

Minutes from the latest APPSSG meetings can be found here.

See also:

The Welsh Cross Party Group on Small Shops (WCPGSS)